Useful Contacts

Image

In the Eastern tradition, there’s a saying that the calligrapher only needs the four treasures – ink, stone, paper and brush. We won’t ask you to grind your own ink, unless you want to, but beyond the basics there is a world of instructional manuals and inspiring books we recommend you read.

There are plenty of art supplies to add to your toolkit of essentials such as inks, paints, brushes, different inks and specialist papers. There are several directions your calligraphy could go in and these websites are worth a visit to see if there’s anything of particular interest.

NATIONAL SOCIETIES

Calligraphy and Lettering Arts Society (CLAS) www.clas.co.uk
For the promotion of study, practice and teaching of Western Calligraphy in all its forms.

Heritage Crafts Association www.heritagecrafts.org.uk
Advocate for traditional craft methods, compiler of the Radcliffe Red list and publisher of the Makers Directory.

Letter Exchange www.letterexchange.org
For professional designers and lettering practitioners.

Society of Bookbinders www.societyofbookbinders.com
Dedicated to books and the preservation of the printed and written word – North Wales & North West region.

Society of Scribes and Illuminators (SSI) www.calligraphyonline.org
An internationally respected organisation with a hundred year history promoting the study and practice of calligraphy and illumination.

Image

SUPPLIERS

Blots Pen & Ink Supplies www.blotspens.co.uk
A wide range of calligraphy materials.

Ken Bromley Art Supplies www.artsupplies.co.uk
A supplier of fine papers and art materials based, in Bolton.

Calligraphity  www.calligraphity.com
A specialist bookseller for the Lettering Arts and associated crafts.

Cult Pens www.cultpens.co.uk
Stockist of all types of pen and the latest calligraphy materials.

John Neal Books www.johnnealbooks.com
For periodical magazines and folded pens from the United States.

Penman Direct www.penmandirect.co.uk
Stockists of the latest calligraphy trends.

Pink Pig Sketchbooks www.the-pink-pig.co.uk
Artists sketchbooks from Yorkshire with handmade covers in jewel colours.

Scribblers www.scribblers.co.uk
Optional subscription available to a calligraphy supplier with student resources.

Wright’s of Lymm www.stonehouses.co.uk
For gilding supplies including brushes.

Image

MEMBERS WEBSITES

Brian Colvin www.wedding-calligraphy.co.uk
Copperplate specialist and tutor based in the Liverpool area.

Rosana Ibarrola-Fulford www.lovecalligraphy.co.uk
Artist and calligraphy studio owner in Didsbury, Manchester.

Alejandra Gonaldi www.calligrability.co.uk
Runs the Copperplate Special Interest Group and is based in South Manchester.

Jilly Hazeldine FSSI www.gillianhazeldine.co.uk
A calligrapher and tutor based in Lancashire.

Hilary Lewis www.hilarylewiscalligraphy.co.uk
A calligraphic artist based in South Cheshire.

Image

PEOPLE & PLACES

Brian Walker www.briangwalkercalligrapher.com
Memorial to a Master Penman who specialised in Spencerian and developed an ink and nib.

Chetham’s Library www.chethams.com
The oldest public reference library in Britain.

Derwent Pencil Museum www.derwentart.com
The history of pencils in Keswick.

Gladstone’s Library www.gladstoneslibrary.org
The finest residential and only Prime Ministerial Library.

Harris Museum & Art Gallery www.theharris.org.uk
Partner to the British Library in Preston.

Higham Hall www.highamhall.com
An educational trust providing a creative workshops in Cumbria with bursaries for young adults.

John Rylands Library www.library.manchester.ac.uk
Houses one of the finest collections of illuminated manuscripts in the the world.

Pen Museum www.penmuseum.org.uk
The history of pen manufacture in Birmingham.

Portico Library www.theportico.org.uk/
Manchester’s subscription library open to the public for dining - runs occasional workshops.

Stephen Raw www.stephenraw.com
A regular speaker at events and lettering artist based at Rust Gallery, Manchester.

Walker Art Gallery www.liverpoolmuseums.org.uk
For inspiration and next to Liverpool Central Library and the World Museum.